Skip to content

A Mushroom Milestone!

April 12, 2010

Let it go down in the history of Girl’s culinary adventures that this dinner was the very first time I have ever willingly used mushrooms (chopped up shitake mushroom in potstickers do not count) in my cooking!!! Believe it or not, I used to be very, very picky about food (still picky, but definitely not to the same degree as before) and I used to have a thing against mushrooms. Maybe it was the taste? Texture? Or maybe an irrational fear of them while growing up? Who knows! Either way, I’m trying to change my ways. And oh, mushrooms, I am sorry for rejecting you all these years. I credit Boy for helping me discover a taste for maitake mushroms that I never thought I’d have.

Anyway, dinner was inspired by a lovely package of spinach fettuccine I found in an international goods shop in Kobe. I cooked the maitake with some butter and garlic before adding it to the pasta. Then I added more garlic along with spinach and parmesan, with a little bit of green onion. Mmm..green pasta!

To go along with the pasta, he made a mini tofu pizza! We tried something similar in one of our favorite Okonomiyaki restaurants a few weeks ago. As strange as it sounds, it’s very delicious!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 05:18

    props to Girl for getting over the fear of mushrooms… and props to Boy for tofu pizza… I like!

    S.O.F.A.T.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

