Skip to content

Will work for…tortellini?

March 13, 2010

Could it have been the baguette I picked up at the store? Thinking about our ’07 adventure in Venice? I’m not exactly sure what triggered it, but I have had a huge tortellini craving! With no hope of finding tortellini or even ravioli around town, I set out to create my own version of tortellini. Faced with a few setbacks such as no access to ricotta cheese or semolina flour, my strong craving gave me the determination to carry on.

Tonight’s adventure in tortellini-making was a Boy+Girl team effort. He peeled and chopped a massive amount of garlic which I generously used for the filling, sauce, and garlic bread. He also washed and blanched the spinach for the filling, as well as created a vegetable and bean salad to accompany the main course.  I made the tortellini filling from the cottage cheese (surprisingly, the Japanese brand looked more like ricotta than cottage cheese… hmmmm!), parmesan cheese, egg, spinach, and garlic. I would love to say that I also made the tortellini wrappers from scratch, but I wasn’t sure if it would be worth the time and effort. Instead, I opted for some trusty won ton wrappers to do the trick. After stuffing and folding the tortellini, I placed them in bowling water for about 2 minutes. Meanwhile, I prepared a pesto cream sauce using a little bit of pesto, butter, spinach, garlic, flour, and milk. Served with some super garlic bread, it was safe to say that this meal really satisfied my craving. Buon appetito!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

